The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe. “Jazz music is extremely popular in the city of Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe’s annual jazz festival last summer, and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is ‘Jazz Nightly,’ which airs every weeknight. Also, a number of well-known jazz musicians own homes in Monroe. Nevertheless, the nearest jazz club is over an hour away. Given the popularity of jazz in Monroe and a recent nationwide study indicating that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment, a jazz music club in Monroe would be tremendously profitable.”

The writer of the application has asserted that the jazz music club will be tremendously profitable. The writer substantiates above assertion by providing examples of 100,000 people attended Monroe’s annual jazz festival last summer, the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is ‘Jazz Nightly,’ which airs every weeknight”. Moreover, the number of well-known jazz musicians own houses in Monroe. Also nearest Jazz music club is one hour away & a typical jazz fan spends about $1000 per year on jazz entertainment. However, the evidence provided by the arguer, fails to establish a link between profitability and evidence provided due to three reasons.

Firstly, the arguer has based his contention on number of people attended Monroe’s annual jazz festival last summer. The arguer states, 100,000 people attended annual jazz festival last summer erroneously assuming that this year too will garner in the same amount of people as it did last summer. It is likely that this year only 50,000 people will attend the festival. Additionally, attendance might be lower than 50,000. Thus, the author fails to establish a link between people attended last year and will be attending this year. If above scenario has merit, then above conclusion doesn’t hold water.

Secondly, even if one assumes that there will be an influx of people attending this year’s festival and many jazz music fanatics travelling for experience of Jazz music clubs, it can cannot be believed that opening a new jazz music club will be “tremendously successful”. It is likely that the virtuosos (of jazz music) perform at jazz music club located one hour away whereas the new club will have some inferior jazz musicians perform for them. It is possible that the club one hour away pays their musician well and the new club can’t afford to do so. Therefore, the new music club might now be successful. If above scenario is true, the arguer’s conclusion is significantly flawed.

Thirdly, the arguer states that because the fans pay about 1000$ per year for jazz entertainment, new club will be successful. The arguer erroneously assumes that the fans will pay the some amount for the new club leading to profits. It is possible that fans might be reluctant to pay for a membership of new club because they are so used to the old one. Perhaps fans don’t have penchant for the jazz music performed at new club. It is likely that some amount of the $1000 spent each year is for ‘jazz nightly’ show subscription. Perhaps they are satiated with the highly rated show, they don’t have the need to visit a new jazz music club. If above scenario has merit, the conclusion is flawed.

In its present form, the given argument is largely unconvincing due to lack of quantifiable evidence provided in support of the conclusion made. Until and unless a quantifiable evidence in form of a study is presented, the conclusion is flawed.