In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

The prompt recommends that to ensure highway safety, the roads should emulate the project of Butler County. The prompt is based on many unwarranted assumptions and to substantiate the recommendation three pieces of evidence must be provided.

Firstly, it is assumed that adopting the same kind of project as Butler County will guarantee immediate success. Perhaps the project which was completed in Butler County was successful because the people were more obedient to rules. Moreover, the population of county was low and traffic on roads was less. Due to which the number of accidents were less. It is likely that the nature of accidents was minor and that’s why number of accidents reported were low. Thus, a research study of above mentioned scenarios be carried out so that we can substantiate the claim.

Secondly, it is assumed that if the key aspects of butler county project are emulated, Prunty County will have the same kind of improvement as Butler county had. Perhaps it possible that Prunty county already has same lane width as that of Butler county. It is likely that the population of people using vehicles in Prunty County is much more that Butler County. Even though the width of lanes is substantial, it is not wide enough to handle the traffic of Prunty County. If above scenario is true, the argument does not hold water

Thirdly, it is erroneously assumed that the Project of Butler County was successful. It is possible that the number of reported accidents was low in last year. However, it is also possible that the number of accidents were high last year but most of them were not reported. Moreover, it is likely that the average number of yearly accidents has remained but only the number of reported accident has decreased significantly. If the above scenario is true the conclusion is significantly weakened.

In sum, the conclusion as it stands is flawed. A research study needs to be carried out incorporating all of the scenarios mentioned above to further substantiate the recommendation to emulate the Butler county Project in order to improve highway safety