Vandalism in Carlton County

The author of the letter recommends that county government should take strict measures to reduce the number of out-of-state migrants in order to prevent further destruction of public property and restore civic order. These conclusion is based on out-of-state migrants are the main cause of vandalism in Carlton County. However, before this recommendation be properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

Firstly, is the rate of increase of out-of-state migrants proportional to rate of increase of vandalism incidences? The recommender presumes that increase in vandalism incidences is directly related to out-of-state migrants which have increased at the same rate as the rate of incidences.However, it is possible that in year 1 the vandalism incidences were higher than that of year 2. Simultaneously, the out-of-state migrants were lower in year 1 as compared to year 2. Perhaps, the vice versa of above scenarios is also possible. therefore, if above is true, the argument doesn't hold water.

Secondly, Are out-of-state migrants the only ones' responsible for property damage in the Carlton County?The recommender presumes that out-of-state migrants are the only ones who are responsible for property damage. It is likely that native people could also be responsible for vandalism incidences. Perhaps, it might be true that there might be some riots in the county for native people rights and due to which there is property damage in the county. Therefore, more evidence is needed in order to evaluate the argument. As it stands, argument is flawed.

Thirdly, will taking up strict measures to reduce out-of-state migrants necessarily mean property damage is prevented and civic order will be restored? What if there is another factor at play here which causes vandalism incidences? Perhaps, if the influx of out-of-state migrants is hindered, the economy of Carlton town will go into recession. It is likely that the migrants bring in a considerable part of revenue for Carlton county purveyors. As a result, reducing the influx of migrant might hamper the economy of Carlton town.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stand now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer three questions above and offer more evidence (perhaps in form of a systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluated the feasibility of the proposed recommendation works.