'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

In the argument, it is concluded that in order to attract more viewers and avoid losing any more advertising revenue, the time devoted to weather and local news be restored and brought to its former level. This conclusion is based on complaints from viewers as well as cancellation of advertising contracts by many companies. However, before this conclusion is properly evaluated, three evidences must be provided to substantiate the recommendation.

Firstly, it is assumed that the number of complaints from viewers were significantly high and it led to an impact on viewership of the late night news program. It is possible that the number of complaints are very low in number. For instance, what if there are only 2-3 complaints for the stations coverage and other complaints were for some another program? Therefore, a study must be provided where in the number of complaints are quantified and details regarding the attributes of the complaint be provided. If the above scenario is true and until a research study is not provided the conclusion is flawed.

Secondly, it is assumed that the complaints are for coverage of weather and local news which result in reduction of viewers. Perhaps it is possible that the complaints are for the quality of whether news or the validity of local news. Perhaps, the viewers are not interested in the news channel and it might be the reason for reduction in viewership. It is possible that coverage of whether and local news does not interest the viewers and the viewers are complaining & asking for complete removal of the the program from the news channel.

Thirdly, it is assumed that advertising contract termination is the only factor that has led to the decrease in viewership. Perhaps, it is likely that the local business companies are not satisfied but he contract with the news channel. Consequently, they have found a new alternative for there companies advertisement. Moreover, the arguer assumes that by restoring the time devoted to weather and local news will for sure bring in revenues and increase in viewers. Perhaps, the opposite might happen. Hence, If the above scenario is true the conclusion doesn't hold water.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stand now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provided more evidence (perhaps in form of a systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluated the feasibility of the proposed recommendation of reduction of work hours.