Scientists and other researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people.

Scientists and researchers are the ones who are responsible for major breakthroughs, be it in Physics, Chemistry, Biology, or any other domains. Hence, they are one of the most important assets to the country. Universities and countries invest huge amounts of money in research which helps a large number of people. Most of the scientists are interested in research which puts a significant impact on the world and which may help make the world a better place to live in. Therefore, in my opinion, I mostly agree with the recommendation that scientists and researchers should work on those areas which will eventually help a large number of people based on two reasons.

To Begin, Scientists who have studied medicine can greatly impact the world because they can find the cures for novel diseases. For instance, in 2020, a novel strain of SARS virus was spread in China which immediately spread throughout the world. Moreover, disease had no cure and it was rampant all over the world. It was even designated as a pandemic level threat by the World Health Organization. As a result, millions of people were infected and, thousands were dead. Due to which scientist were assigned with the task of finding a vaccine or cure for the disease in the shortest time possible. Hence, once scientists find a potent cure for the disease which can also be called as an "Elixir of Life", millions of peoples' life will be saved. Thus, scientists should only focus on those areas which add value to the society and help a large group of people.

However, the only working on those areas which impact the human race is not always a good choice, but focussing on those areas which will in future (2-3 decades after) will put a significant impact on the human race is always a better choice. For example, the owner of Tesla (Automaker) - Elon Musk has inaugurated two companies - The Boring company & Space X. The scientist of the latter are working on ways in which we can connect various countries all over the world with an underground tunnel. If the scientists find a way to make this project successful, it will give a new dimension to the way we transit from one to another. Moreover, the Space X company, which has there scientists researching for ways to make travel to Mars accessible. Consequently, they also have a vision which is one step farther than we can imagine - They want to make the interplant travelling a budget friendly experience. Thus, though scientists and research do not focus on areas which would help a large number of people in the short term, working in pioneering areas which would be game changer in the long run is a necessary aspect that every scientists must look for.

Of course, some would argue that scientists should not be mandate to focus on research areas which would benefit most a large number of people. However, that is exception not a rule. Scientists have a free will to research about the areas that they are interested in, but they should also focus on the areas which add value to the society. In conclusion, Scientists and other researchers should their research on areas that are likely to help a large number of people or work on those areas which will have a significant impact in the long run.