Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo, it is recommended that Super Screen should allocate a large portion the budget in to advertising thereby increasing the reach to the public in order to increase the number of viewers. However, before this recommendation can be evaluated, three questions must be answered.

Firstly, Are the reviews of the movie reviewers reviews credible enough to garner in views for Super Screen produced movies? What if the movie reviewers are paid by Super Screen Movie company to give positive reviews for specific movies? It is possible that the positive movie reviews are only for those movies which cost the super screen production company a huge amount. Moreover, to recover these expenses to produce a company and get a good return on investment, the company paid the reviewers to provide positive reviews. If above scenario is true, the recommendation is significantly weakened.

Secondly, are the percentage increase of positive reviews a significant number? It is possible that the positive reviews last year were 100 and this year this reviews have increased by 10 making in it 110 positive reviews which is a 10% increase. Moreover, these increase might not be significant as compared with other production companies where in they bring about a increase of 30 to 40 percent of positive reviews. Perhaps, due to above scenario the other movie companies thrive in market in terms of viewership. Thus,a research study should be provided inculcating the number of views increased in comparison with other companies.

Thirdly, What if the reputation of the reviewers is not that good in the movie space? It is likely that the reviews given by the reviewers are not true. Perhaps the reputation of the reviewers is tarnished that even though the positive reviews are taken in an skeptical way. Perhaps the even though movie might be good, the due to movie reviewers reputation the movies fails to garner in views. If above scenario is true, the argument doesn't' hold water.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer three questions above and offer more evidence (perhaps in form of a systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluated the feasibility of the proposed recommendation to apportion of budget for advertisement in order to bring in more viewers.