Nature’s Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature’s Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville’s schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

The argument that Nature’s way will prove to be very successful because it is profitable in most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives. The conclusion is not entirely and logically convincing because it is based on a few unproven assumptions.

Firstly, the argument states that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time high. Consequently, assuming that due to demand the Nature’s way products will be successful. Perhaps the sales in earlier years were 10000 running shoes per year, now those are 10500 running shoes per year. Moreover, maybe there is a discount on prices of health-related products leading to record-breaking sales. Does that necessarily mean that it will provide significant profit to Nature’s way? Therefore, until and unless a systematic research study is not taken into consideration, this conclusion doesn’t hold water.

Secondly, the argument states that local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Maybe the club has offered some kind of discount resulting in Health clubs teeming with members. Moreover, even if the health club members have increased, does it mean that every member will buy health-related products and food from Nature’s way only? Perhaps, there is a competitor who supplies the same quality of products as Nature’s ways at a cheaper rate. Therefore, if above is true, the conclusion does not hold water.

Thirdly, it is assumed that Plainsville is a place teeming with health conscious residents. As a result, the Nature’s way will be successful and profitable. It is an unwarranted assumption that Plainesville has a very huge population and a potential market for health related products. Perhaps, the population is in 10,000s as for being in 100,000s. Maybe, not all residents of Plainesville are health conscious. Supposedly, only 7000 of total are interested in health related products. Moreover, even if 7000 are interested they will have alternatives sources other than nature’s way for their health related needs. If the above scenario holds merit, the conclusion is significantly weakened.

Fourthly, it is assumed that school children are potential customers which will engender success and bring in profits. Perhaps, there is only one school in Plainsvile, consisting only 300-400 students. Will such a meagre quantity lead to success and eventual profits in future? Although, if there are many schools consisting of 1000- 2000 students each. The conclusion might be plausible. Until and unless a new evidence is provided, the conclusion is flawed.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stand now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to offer more evidence (perhaps in form of a systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the feasibility of the argument.