Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Education is one of the most important aspects of life for students. Education is the differentiating factor between a poverty stricken country and a developed country. The role of government to provide university and college education is vital one. The way government chooses or frames an education policy will have a direct impact on the students and indirectly on the nation. The prompt recommends that governments ought to provide college and university education free of cost to all the students. In my opinion, I mostly agree with the recommendation due to two reasons.

To begin, education policies should be set in such a way that both - the universities as well as students be benefitted by policy. Moreover, the education policy drafted by government should provide education at low cost or free of charge. This step ensures that the people who are poor and cannot afford educating themselves can get education a good university. In addition, education increases the literacy rate of the country and thereby improving the status as a developed country. For instance, Germany provides free education to everyone. This has led Germany acquiring a very talented pool of applicants. Consequently, these students contribute to breakthrough in technology thereby putting Germany at the forefront of technology. Though, providing education at free of cost will not only hinder the profits of the universities but also will affect the ability to sustain themselves due to low cash inflow. However, the government can pay those universities to sustain themselves. This will lead to increased literacy rates and betterment of the country on a global level.

In addition, universities can take up an exam which will test the abilities of the students and the most talented student should be given a full ride scholarship. This exam will bring in competitiveness and a talented pool of applicant. Moreover, those students don't pass the cut off of this examination will be asked a pay a nominal fees to the university. For instance, in India, the Government conducts a joint entrance examination, those who pass in this examination are given a full ride scholarship. This type of exams will ensure a competitive spirit and the prestigious universities will fetch in talented students. These students may go on to contribute in groundbreaking research and further putting that specific university on the apex of academia.

In sum, the government should provide education to free of cost or at a lower tuition fees so that those who cannot afford education fees will study in the universities. Hence, an exam should be conducted to filter out the talented students and further allotment of scholarship can be done.