International tourism has brought enormous benefits to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment.

Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people believe that International Tourism has been beneficial to many places. Simultaneously, some people are concerned about tourists impact on the environment and local people living in these places. In my opinion, the advantages of international tourism outweigh the disadvantages due to two reasons.

Firstly, international tourism is vital to local economic growth. tourists visit these touristy places and therefore contribute to sales of goods, leading to an increase in gross domestic product per capita. International tourism is an income source for local inhabitants and a way for them to have a sustainable lifestyle. For instance, France is 90 percent dependent on tourism sector where major attraction being Eiffel tower. The local inhabitants benefit from tourists as their restaurants and shops thrive and they earn a good amount of profit. Therefore, their is minimal impact on local inhabitants.

Secondly, impact on environment is low than expected. Countries which attract large number of tourists each year have very strict rules and regulations in regards to hampering of environment. Most of the rules are for littering in national parks, forests and in public places. If these rules are not followedby tourists, then countries impose large amount of fines to these tourists or sometimes the tourists are imprisoned. Due to such rules, tourists are scared to hamper the environment and their surroundings. Therefore, the impact on environment is minimal.

In conclusion, I believe that international tourists are beneficial to many places. In fact, international tourists boost the sales of goods, leading to economic growth of the area. As a result, local inhabitants are profitable due to international tourism. In addition, the impact on environment is minimal due to strict rules been imposed by the countries to counter hampering of the environment and surroundings.