The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

What should be the best characterisitcs of leaders of an industry or a government? Would the people and the infrastructure under the leaders prosper if they are of a competitive mind or if they are cooperative and empathize with the people they interact with? I believe that the best leaders should have a bit of both these characteristics and the society should prepare its future leaders accordingly instead of concentrating on one and neglecting the other. Eschewing the importance of one can have inadvertant effects.

The success and the growth of a field usually highly depends upon their corresponding leaders. The people working in the field look up to these leaders as role models and try to follow in their footsteps as well as justify their actions by giving examples of their leaders' actions. Hence, the leaders that take up these mantles should be groomed and prepared to be a good example. Thus, these leaders should be prepared to be competitive so as to have the willpower to work hard and take their industries/nations to levels never reached before. But they should also be trained to empathize and cooperate with people so that they do not resort illegal, improper means to achieve their goals.

Competitive mindset is an extremely good thing to have. It enables the person to push their limits to achieve what could have been considered impossible by themselves and the society. But the ways to achieve a goal is multifold and a person drunk on achieving their goal might resort to take up any of these ways without considering the moral implications. A leader with just this mindset might achieve pyrrhic victories by taking improper advantage of the people working for them and trust them. Eventually, these people might be left in the dust as the leader do not find themselves with the feelings of empathy or cooperation. A good example for this would be the CEO and founder of Amazon, Jeff Bezos. Jeff Bezos has achieved what was once considered improbable and his company has benefited people across the globe. But the way employees treated in Amazon is not widely acceptable as they are considered to be made to work hard with not even being paid accordingly. As, a result Jeff Bezos is not widely considered to be a role model in spite of his mind boggling achievements.

Secondly, just the presence of a empathy in a leader without a competitive mindset

would not be a boon either. A leader might empathize too much with their employees or subordinates without providing them with a proper goal to achieve and thus, not pushing them. As a result these people might become complacent and thus do not contribute much to the growth of the field and would just be content with maintaining the day to day tasks.

Thus, with the above viewpoints as evidence. I feel that the society must take extra care to prepare its younger generation to instill both senses of cooperation and competition. Only with both of their characterisitics can the leaders, people working for them or associate with them, the field/nation/industry they are working for will eventually prosper and grow.