In this age of intensive media coverage, it is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Who is regarded as a hero? Is it someone who garners widespread fame and praise due to his extraordinary achievements? Or is it some ordinary person going on through his day to day life but also goes out of his way to help others in need? Or is it someone else altogether? I consider all of these people as heroes in their own ways and look up to the qualities that make them heroes. The topic states that it is no longer possible to regard any person as a hero anymore due to intensive media coverage. By popular opinion society usually considers people with scintillating popularity as heroes. For these kind of heroes, I agree that the topic holds true while for others it doesn't.

Many famous people are considered heroes due to their extraordinary achievements or a job with extensive societal coverage or just for the sake of being related to other popular or heroic people. These people are extensively targeted by media as people vicariously want to follow their life. Due to this, many of the day to day activities are brought out into the picture causing people to judge them by other means than what made them a hero. These considerations might affect their views of them which wouldn't have happened in the past. Best example for this would be the legendary golf player, Tiger Woods. People crazily used to flock to his matches, fawned over him and revered him due to his incredible achievements in the sport. But when his scandals and affairs were brought out into the open, people suddenly stopped respecting him and considering him a hero.

In the other case, regular people who go through tribulations to help or support others are less widely known heroes. These heroes are known well to smaller group of people i.e. his friends and family who he would have assisted. These people revere their heroes more stubbornly and are less quickly to judge them as their own lives were affected positively. These heroes are not usually exposed to the media coverage and hence their image is not tarnished.

All in all, the societies consideration of people as heroes is dependent on the mindset of a society itself. Because both the positive and negative thoughts which make or break the heroes originate from the society. If a person exists who expertly manages to slide himself into position accurately between these 2 thoughts, will never be tarnished through media coverage. Sachin Tendulkar, a cricket player from India is a great example of this. His achievements in the sport made people respect him. And his calm demeanour and peaceful presence both on and off the field persevered his image as a hero.

Thus, by view of above points, I must say that the issue holds true only a subset of categories of heroes and not in all the cases. I also feel that people should not be disregarded as heroes once their image is tarnished by media coverage. We should always take the positive aspects of each and every person and use it for our own betterment and also use their mistakes as a lesson. By teaching us a lesson through their mistakes, they continue to be heroes.