The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because online instruction takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased. Thus, to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficits at Humana University, we should initiate and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the argument, the author states that online degree programs must be promoted at Humana University to increase enrollment and thus solve budget deficits. The author gives an example of nearby Omni University to support his claim. Even though the author's argument seems to hold good at a bare glance, upon careful consideration, his argument seems flawed and ripe with unexplained holes.

The author states that in Omni University, online degree programs enrollment increased by 50 percent over the last year leading to decrease in expenditures for dormitories and class space. In short, author assumes that online programs cut down the university's expenses without giving proper explanation or stats to support his claim. This is a classic case of "Post hoc ergo propter hoc" i.e. the author confuses correlation with causation. There might be a number of other reasons for the decrease in expenditures for dormitory and classroom spaces. It might be that the newly joined students preferred not to stay in the dormitories, choosing outdoor housing facilities. It might also be that the new offline students are more sophisticated than their seniors, keeping the premises clean and thus requiring less maintenance.

On an another note, the author assumes that supporting online programs would lead to an increase in enrollment at Humana University. The decline over the past few years might have nothing to do with the unavailability of online classes. The decline could have been caused by good professors leaving the college or bad maintenace of the college facilities or lack of good courses. The prosperity of the nearby Omni University might also have pushed to students to neglect Humana University to a greater extent.

Finally, one of the most flagrant assumptions of the author is that online degree programs will solve budget deficit problems. Once again, the author fails to provide any statistics to support his claim. While online programs might reduce the cost of dormitories and classrooms, it might also increase the universities spending to a greater extent on other features such as setting up and maintaining websites, corresponding infrastructure to provide online classes seamlessly to the students. This might have the ill effect of even worsening budget problems of the University.

To sum it up, the author's argument does not provide proper analysis of the issue, but jumps to ill formed assumptions without proper statistics or reasons to support his claim. The author's claim might have been strengthened if he had provided survey results in which prospective students would have chosen Humana University if online programs were supported by the university. It would have also helped if the author had provided a deeper analysis of how the cost of setting up online programs would have been much lesser than the maintenance of classrooms and other requirements for offline classes.