The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the given arguments, the business manager of a television station states in his memo that late night news program must allocate longer time to local and weather news as it was done in the past. He states that this is required to attract more viewers and avoid losing revenues. He also provides multiple evidences as reasons for his proposed change. While these reasons seem relevant to the issue stated, the manager also neglects a large number of probablities that undermine his arguments. Thus, the argument seems facile and fraught with holes.

The manager states that over the past year, the late night news programs telecasted by the television station have shifted their attention from local and weather news to national news. As a result, many complaints have been received decrying reduced attention to the former. But the manager doesn't consider the fact that even though it has resulted in increased complaints by local audience, it might also have caused the program's reach to increase due to its coverage of news of the whole nation. People from other towns or cities who neglected these programs previously might have started tuning into follow national news. Thus, reverting back to local news might actually cause viewers to decrease as opposed to what the manager has stated in the argument.

Moreover, the manager also states that local businesses have started canceling their advertising contracts since the coverage of the news has shifted. Hence, he assumes that reverting back the news coverage might prevent this and avoid losing any further revenues. This is a classic case of "Post hoc ergo propter hoc" i.e. the manager confuses correlation with causation. The cancellation of advertisment contracts could have been totally unrelated to the change stated. There can be possiblities such as the local businesses themselves might not be performing well enough to accomodate the costs of advertising. Or it might also be possible that the businesses could have shifted to a different form of advertising via internet or billboards as they feel they can target their customers better through them. The manager is totally ignorant of these possibilites and doesn't provide any sort of evidence such as statistics or survey results as defence against them.

Finally, even if we assume that local businesses cancelled their advertisment contacts due to the same reason as stated by the manager, there is also a possibility that business around the nation could start taking up the vacated advertisement slots as the coverage of the news has more reach now. This might actually stop revenue losses and possibly even increase it to a greater extent than before in the long run. Thus, manager's arguments can have an adverse effect of preventing the growth in the future.

In short, with the above stated points as evidence, it can be concluded that the author's argument is flawed, not well thought out and jumps to a conclusion on the basis of few unwarranted reasons. The argument might have been strengthened if the manager would have been able to provide reports wherein there is a direct decrease of viewership after the coverage change in the past year. It could have also helped, if the manager had taken up a survey from the local businesses requesting the reason for their cancellation of advertising contracts.