A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The issue states that all the students of a nation should be made to study a fixed national curriculum until they enter college. While having the same education would make sure to provide basic knowledge to the students as deemed necessary in the nation, it might also have an ill affect on students lives as for at least a part of them, the education received might be considered invalid or irrelevant to their future pursuits in college. Hence, I believe that common national curriculum would not be a good idea.

Making the subjects and information students study to be common might lead to the arousal of number of inadvertent issues. If the government comes up with a curriculum too general to satisfy the requirements of all the different interests of the students, it would be facile. Making the curriculum general might take a hit on all the students. Parts of the curriculum might be pursued with interest and the rest would be ignored. Only a few of the students ever truly enjoy all the topics put forth in front of them with interest.

Usually, if such a case has to be considered, the best way for the government would be to consider job oppurtunities and interest of majority of students and present a suitable national curriculum accordingly. While this may seem acceptable for a larger group, it would still not be fair for a few students with different and unique interests. For example, teaching advanced physics in high school might help students with the goal of becoming an Engineer for which there is a greater demand in the job market or at least greater interest amongst students. But at the same time, the subject would be impertinent to a student interested in Arts or Philosophy. This might not only waste the time of those students who would have preferred to study something else, but would also lead to a decline in their acadmic performance due to their uninterest on the subject.

I believe that the concept of same curriculum is a good one. But making it compulsary until college would be waiting too long. It would be better to teach general subjects only till the elementary level in such a way that the students are well taught enough to pursue their own interests and better equipped for the same. The general curriculum should prepare students for the world and send them on their way at an early stage. This would provide students greater flexibility instead of the rigidity they feel if they enter college directly without their own choices till then. The best example for this is the education system of India. The curriculum is tailor made for students with little choices till the 10th grade. As a result most of the students end up pursuing only engineering or medical degrees because that's what they have studied for until then. Thus, most of the students suffer from not being able to do what they are interested or what they are good at leading to large unemployment and poverty rates.

With the above viewpoints in mind, I feel that the nations shouldn't make one curriculum mandatory for students until they enter college. I believe that the students should be prepared to make a proper choice and pursue it enthusiastically. This would help both the students and thus the nation as a whole.