Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Teachers train and shape the future of the society. Many feel that their work is the most important and they being remiss in their duty will affect the society the most. Keeping this in mind, the issue asks the question as to whether the teachers' salaries be based on the results they provide i.e. academic performance of their students? I only partially agree to this. While making the salary proportionate to the academic performance would make teachers take extra care and scrutiny while teaching their students, it can also have some inadvertent effects.

There are all kinds of teachers. Some of them kind, while some of them are harsh and strict. Both of these kind of teachers are working for the betterment of the children they are teaching in their own way. But there are also some teachers who have taken up the job due to the unavailability of other jobs they would have ideally wanted to pursue. A part of these category of teachers are not satisfied in their job and are usually carefree and remiss in their duties leading to a hit in their students' performances. Hence, for these teachers, the above stated precation might make them more disciplined and cautioned toward their duties.

In another case, for the people who love teaching children, dynamically varying their salary with their students' academic performance might make them feel pressurized. These kind of teachers feel backed into a corner and might resorting to teaching techniques that they might not be comfortable with or not suited to them. Their earlier view of their students would change into a view of their own survival. As a result, this would have a perverse affect of degrading the children's performance and also cause a decline in the life of a good teacher's career as well as his/her life.

Finally, teachers are not only important for the academic well-being of their students' but also teach them life lessons, empathize with them and make them better persons as a whole. With the rule stated in the issue, the teachers might neglect the above duty for their own sake of meeting their ends or for aiming higher salaries. The teachers might also start competing with one another as to who would get a higher salary, thus converting this into some kind of sport. This would definitely affect the characterisitics of the futures of the society. These students might grow up into well educated individuals but might not be well behaved, genteel or good people as whole. They might also resort to the under the hand techniques used by their teachers in their own respective fields causing the entire societal standards to decline.

Thus, with the above stated reasons, I would like to conclude that teachers' salaries should not be based on their students' academic performance. It would be better to maintain the salary structure but provide extra bonuses at the end of the year on the basis of different categories such as academic performance of students, most loved by students and so on. This would prevent the attack on the teachers' livelihood while also help improve ignorant teachers in their duties.