The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument is put forth by a group of developers aiming to obtain loan for starting a jazz music club in the city of Monroe. The developers state that jazz is tremendously popular in Monroe and hence a music club dedicated to the genre would be extremely profitable. They also provide a number of reasons and statistics to support their claim. While on a bare glance, the arguments put forth seem valid and cogent, on deeper analysis the argument seems facile and a number of unwarranted points and holes can be digged out.

First of all, to address the popularity of Jazz in Monroe, the developers state that several well known jazz musicians live in Monroe and the highest rated radio program is related to jazz. But these are not valid reasons to conclude that jazz is popular in the city. The musicians might have chosen to stay in Monroe for a number of other reasons such as favorable climate or good real estate options etc. Also, the program 'Jazz Nightly' is the highest rated in the city. This cannot be held as a ground for its popularity.

The developers also point out that a nationwide study indicates that a typical jazz fan spends close to $1000 annually on the genre. This is a classic case of wrong sampling assumption. The statistics provide details for fans spread throughout the country and not just for the city of Monroe where the developers are concentrating on.

It can be a possibility that other regions in the country has fans spending considerably more than $1000 with fans of Monroe spending far less. Also, the study takes example of a typical 'jazz fan'. The study or the developers do not explain as to how many of these fans are within the limits of Monroe.

As one more evidence to support popularity of jazz in the city, developers state that over 100,000 people attended the Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer. But the argument doesn't provide any support for this statement. The developers ought to have provided a base for this statistics instead of just stating this outright. Also, even if the provided statistics was true, it doesn't state anything about the attenders of the festival. Most of the attendees might have come from outside the city to enjoy the festival or Monroe citizens might have made a visit just to enjoy a once in a year event. Finally, the popularity of the festival might have been a rare one due to a celebrity attending the event as a guest. The festival might not have been as popular in the years preceding it. Thus, this cannot be held as a ground that people in Monroe would attend the proposed jazz club on a regular basis.

Thus, with above explanations, it can be concluded that the argument is not well thought out and jumps to ill formed conclusions. The statistics provided are not acceptably relevant to the argument. The argument could have strengthened by providing a survey within the citizens of Monroe whose results would have explicitly shown their love for jazz and their willingness to spend money on it.