Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I agree that it is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts. It holds true for most of the fields of study. Just learning facts can improve upon your theoretical knowledge whereas a proper understanding can improve both your theoretical knowledge and the ability to draw upon them to solve the problems and improve the field via new discoveries and innovations.

When a student just learns the facts, most often than not he is just using his ability to memorise the fact. If he continues the same way throughout his learning career, the number of facts just keep on building up and his memory ability will saturate to a point where he is unable to learn more without forgetting some that he has already learnt previously. Also, without regular periods of trying to remember, he might start to forget the points he has learnt in the past. After all not all students has a photographic memory. Finally, without understanding, the students cannot be incisive enough to utilise them in the proper way in the field as he will be unable to map the scenarios with what is known to him.

On the other hand, if the student understands the ideas and concepts without solely trying to memorise them, he'll be able to garner more knowledge. He can try to remember some of the key, cornerstone points and try to use his understanding to derive at a solution appropriate to the situation. With the help of this, the student can move on to learn advanced topics and also succeed as his mind will feel less cluttered.

As a computer science student, I have first hand witnessed the negative impacts of just memorising facts. In this field, it is most important to have the logical ability to understand the problem statement and solve it appropriately by writing a program utilizing the instructions of a programming language. Students who just remembered the facts, did well in their theory exams while struggled in the lab exams. In contrast, the students who were able to understand the concepts did well in both. In addition to this, the former students in turn struggled in their jobs as well and could not reach higher positions quickly enough, if they ever did. Whereas the latter students indeed succeed in their careers with their abilities and garnered fame and respect in their fields.

Thus with the above viewpoints and examples, I would like to assert again that understanding ideas and concepts is much more important than to just learn and remember facts. But I would also like to point out that even though the latter is less important, it is still important enough to be not neglected and should be improved upon by the students. Only with the perfect combination of both can the key to success be manufactured.