In any situation, progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The issue states that if people are having completely different viewpoints in a particular area, the discussion amongst them is fundamentally required to achieve any sort of progression. I believe that this holds true for majority of the cases. This would not only help the area progress from a standstill position during the conflict, it would also help highlight the problems in the contradictory viewpoints. As a result the area would eventually improve and prosper as well.

The best example for the above would be the major political parties of the US, namely, the Democrats and the Republicans. While the Republicans value localism and capitalism more, the democrats value globalism and inclusion to a greater extent. This would always lead the parties into conflict at various situations. While most of these conflicts are not handled in an appreciable and pretty ways, some times, these would also lead to a discussion and compromises, which would include the ideas of both the parties partially. Thus, it would prevent either of the afore mentioned principle left out completely which might lead to problems and further reforms in the future.

While most of the time, the above thesis holds true, there might be some situations wherein one or the other side would be in the extreme. In these cases, it would feel that the vanquishing of the extremist's viewpoints would be a good outcome. But these situations are very rare and the only example I can think of it is the World War II. But this also does not seem to be a good example, because we probably cannot fathom what could have happened if the war was avoided altogether or at the least brought to an end sooner with treaties.

Hence, with the above examples as evidence, I would like to conclude that clash of different viewpoints in a peaceful and agreeable way would most likely end in the betterment of the area. In this regard, it would also seem that multiple equally valid viewpoints on a topic would actually be appreciated, as long as there are people on both the sides willing to discuss and resolve the conflict.