Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the argument, the author concludes that the Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean. He arrives at the conclusion by stating that similar baskets were also found in a region across a deep and broad river from Palea to which the Paleans could not have travelled as no Paleans boats have been discovered. While the reason given by the author seems valid for the use case, he is still hasty to jump to the conclusion without more research and analysis. As a result, the argumets seems flawed and rife with holes.

The author gives the reason that since unique woven Palean baskets were also found in Lithos, an ancient village across Brim River from Palea. He asserts that the validity of this reasoning by stating that the Brim river is deep and broad and couldn't have been crossed by Paleans as their boats have not been found till date. This cannot be enough to be considered as a basis for the conclusion that the author has hastily reached. There might have been a number of other ways through which the basket could have found its way from Palea to Lithos

Firstly, author assumes that since Palean boats were not found, they were incapable of crossing a deep and broad river such as the Brim. But author doesn't think about the fact Palean boats could be found in the future similar to how no baskets were found outside Palea until now. Also, if we consider the fact that Paleans were not a sailing people, there might also be a chance that they were contacted by other civilizations with sailing abilities and had obtained the baskets upon interaction. These possibilites would severely undermine the author's argument.

Moroever, the author doesn't delve deep into the history of the Brim River itself. There might be a possiblity that the river recoursed its way between Lithos and Palea after the end of Paleans through some natural calamity. Or it might also be that it was not so deep and broad during their time. Thus, there might have been a peripatetic interaction between Lithos and Paleans leading to the exchange of the basket.

Finally, author considers the discovery of only a single basket outside of Palea to arrive at his hasty conclusion. A single basket might have found its way across the river aided by a huge gust of wind during a severe storm or any other natural ways. The author is again ignorant of these possiblities.

In short, the argument by the author is facile as no proper evidence is put forth by him. It is seemingly obvious that the authors conclusion is hasty and implusive rather than being based on valid research, facts or statistics. The argument could have been strengthened if the author could have provided facts that the Paleans were never contacted by other civilizations during their existence. It could also have been strenghtened by providing a brief history on the Brim river which states that the river flowed through the same course in the same capacity as of today in the prehistoric times as well.