The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Today's world require everyone to be their best versions and competing with others definately keeps a check on the individual development. I disagree with the assertion made in the prompt that, the best way to prepare its young people for leadership is by inbibing in them a sense of co-operation instaead of competition. I believe that competition is an integral part of growth of an individual, specially in modern world due to the following three reasons.

Firstly, where there is no sense of competition, it is often observed that people lack motivation. For instance, government of the state of Delhi has recently changed marking system for student's academic tests till high school, from a percentage score to grading. The government as well as parents took this decision in an attempt to reduce pressure of competition among students to achieve perfect numbers as scores for their final exams. It was expected that through this change a positive outlook can be developed among students towards learning. On the other hand the results were astonishing. It was discovered though a survey that scores and the quality of learning both had a negative impact preceeding this change in marking system. Therefore, it was concluded that a sense of competition is necessary for all round development of an individual to grow towards becoming future leaders. Hence, governement should ensure that education is structured in a manner where children find themsleves yerning to be better then not only their peers but also their past selves.

Further, not just on indivudual level , but on organisation level, competition is extremely necessary to be on top of the charts. For example, in India during the early 2000s all the telecommunication networks were controlled by the government . Later in the 2010s a lot of the private companies entered in the Indian telecommunication market, and it was predected by most of the financial advisers that the private companies will charge more for the same servises provided at relatively low costs by the government. Although, it turned out exactly the opposite; due to increased compeition among various organisations in the sector, the prices exponentially dropped as more private players wanted to entice consumenrs towards using their services. Therefore, it is necessary to introduce some form of competition in every kind of industry to make people work their best.

Furthermore, in today's cut throat competition it is almost impossible to avoid competetion. Where most of the contries are developing plans to make their students and organisations more competitive to gain an edge: working towards intilling a sense of co-operation and not competition will make the entire contry fall behind. For instance, there are so many products launched in the world right now that any company which wants to be a global leader, if does not update their strategy from time to time then they are going to lack behind. Biggest example of this scenario is 'Nokia'. The company just did not stand up to the compeition with Android and had to sell almost all its shares. Theirfore, instead of avoiding competition we need to cherish and learn to work with it.

Some may argue that a sense of co-operation is required for every individual for working in a team and collectively achieve any type of goal be it in a personal setting or a leadership role in a corporate project. But is'nt that exactly why people need to be the best version of themselves all the time due to the increasing competition in all the professional arenas. Be it sports or politics, an individual who is not self sufficient and is too dependent on the people around due to a sense of co-operation instilled in them, often find themselves struggling to make things work and end up in dissapointment as people may not always co-operate or work in a team as par with the expected standards. In conclusion, it is inportant to inbibe healthy competition in children from an early age to develope them into all round future leaders.