The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Cooperation is an essential part of any organisation to arrive at a consensus while taking each individual's opinion. Hence, I feel it is best to prepare the young for leadership in any field by instilling in them a sense of cooperation instead of competition.

Although present day children are motivated by competition to improve themselves, in the modern society, cooperation plays a pivotal role in the success of any organization. Cooperation involves one taking each other individual's opinion into account while making a decision, sometimes, even at the cost of dismissing one's own opinion. It engenders a harmonious environment which is almost free of conflict. The ultimate goal of a leader is to have a prosperous organization which is achieved through cooperation. An autocratic leader would leave little room for hearing out the opinions of others.

When John Sculley was brought on board Apple Inc, there were several rifts among the board members which ultimately led to Apple's downward spiral for the next few years. Steve Jobs was kicked out of the company he founded. Clearly, this is a classic example of the consequences of lacking cooperation. It could cripple even the finest organizations in the industry.

However, cooperation is something that must be achieved naturally. It is something that cannot be forced upon. A phenomenon called "groupthink" is one of the adverse consequences of cooperation. Groupthink is when the need to arrive at a consensus becomes more important than looking for what would be best for the organization. It inhibits people from looking at the bigger picture and they end up making hasty and improper decisions.

Although ideological clashes would engender new ideas, cooperation ultimately leads to an effective consensus. Hence laying the road to success. Therefore, it is best to prepare our young for leadership by instilling in them a sense of cooperation rather than competition.