The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry,

or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling

reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position

A proper leadership is very important for a successful operation of a team. The ideals of such a leader and his methods are apposite in shaping the course of these decisions. The familiar duality of co-operation and competition naturally comes into the picture here. A team that works well together is as important as trying to push them harder and reach their limits. But, as the familiar saying goes, a fist is always stronger than five individual fingers. It necessary for a team to be able to work together effectively to reach their goals.

Democracy is seen as the fairest form of government because it is inclusive of all views. Although a particular leader is voted as the President or Prime Minister, he/she is the face of the party taking collective decisions. The success of the leader is because of the hard work of everyone involved in the campaign. And even after being elected, he/she is just leader of a council of ministers involved in making the decisions. As we can see from this, every major decision involves the working of a large group of people and the leader must be able to promote cohesion amongst his team to improve their effectiveness.

Sports are a very good example to realize the importance of a team over superstars. We hear many underdog stories because of the superior cohesion between themselves over other star-studded teams with clashing egos. Take the case of Zlatan Ibrahimovic, regarded as one of the best strikers to have played football. He was a divisive force in the dressing room always known for creating a competitive mood. The interesting part of his story is that he could never win the European Championship and kept getting transferred from one top team to the other, while the team that he transferred out of started winning trophies. Thus, we can see from this that although he was a very good player the air of competitiveness he brought to the dressing room hampered the performance of others.

Although cooperation is required it is not sufficient. There must be a healthy competition between members of the team because conflict leads to brilliant ideas many times. This will enable the leader to push the limits of the team and extract as much as possible from his people. So a commensurate balance between the two must be achieved by the leader to maximize the efficiency while maintaining harmonious relations. So, society must primarily instill a sense of cooperation while promoting some healthy competition also.