People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The role of emotion in our decisions is a much debated topic. On one hand we must not let emotions cloud our rational mind in making wrong decisions but on the other some decisions are intrinsically emotional. Ideally, every decision should involve a process where one first collects all the necessary facts from the concerned stakeholders, analyses them critically while, weighing the pros and cons of different approaches and finally reaches a logical decision. This is certainly true in many cases. The prejudices one may hold against another person or object may drive them away from a beneficial option. One might pass up a once in a lifetime career opportunity just because of a beef with the boss. In contrast, the trust and affection one may hold with others could make them overlook certain fallacies. Any decision that involves family will be prone to such mistakes as one may not bring themselves up to believe that their own blood might have made a mistake. Such decision makers will not be objective and disinterested in their conclusions. One may try to justify their decision later but that doesn’t take away from the fact that their process was flawed and the outcome could have been better if more care was given while making the decision. Many emotional decisions may be effective only in the short term and may look justifiable at present but, a decision without forethought may prove detrimental in the future. One is not impervious to the effect emotions can have on our decision’s and if not able to negate this effect, one must never try to justify any mistakes later. A good decision maker must be able to accept such mistakes and correct them accordingly.

Certain decisions must be emotional like choosing a life partner or following our passions. Logic will certainly provide stability and sustainability but emotions have the power to invoke excellence. If you consider the early lives of many major businessmen and leaders, one common trait would be that they believed very strongly in something even if “common sense” said otherwise. If emotions are attached to a decision we will always work extra harder to achieve it. If one can justify their decisions later correctly it means that they have the acumen to weigh the facts properly and the decision is not one which is devoid of importance to facts. The conditions during the decision making process could have been such that enough facts or time may not be available to reach a purely logical decision. One must have the skill to choose wisely under such conditions and following our emotions could be a useful way of dealing with such situations.

A good decision maker will neither be a person who takes decisions emotionally nor one who looks at all issues objectively. A right balance between the two must be achieved with emotion’s giving the confidence and belief in our decisions while not letting it cloud obvious facts. So a good decision maker should always look at all facts critically while at the same time not neglecting the emotions associated with it.