The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station."Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this perio

The argument claims that the local news has been neglected by the late-night news programme and will lead to lesser viewership and revenue if appropriate action is not taken. It must be examined who the complainants are. Do they constitute only a small part of the community or is it coming from a wide-ranging audience? A proper survey must be conducted with the sole emphasis on figuring out the whether the issue claimed is serious. Other data like TRP ratings and viewership data should be examined to see whether there really is a significant decrease that the station should worry about. It should also be analyzed what demographic of viewers are dissatisfied. Has a certain place or section of the audience been misrepresented? Such issues will need to be worked upon immediately as the argument suggests. Although it could also be that the complaints could only be from a small section of disgruntled viewers just because a trivial issue relating to them was not covered.

Further, it must be examined whether any pressing national news was being covered during that period leading to lesser time available for other sections. Major elections or trade agreements might have taken precedence over other news. It should be examined if there has been a decrease in quality of the content produced on the show leading to the dissatisfaction of the viewers. A probe onto whether all sections were adequately represented must be done. If major local news stories where handled very carelessly the concerned reporters must be reprimanded.

The stations' focus and objective of its late-night show must also be known. Was it started to cover majorly local news or other national news? Are there other programmes already set up by the television station to cover local news? Has there been a policy shift taken by the station to expand its horizon to be a national news channel? The losses, if any, from the withdrawal of the local advertising contracts, must be compared with the total revenue generated by the show. If the new approach is profiting through other revenue streams then the validity of the argument is compromised. The real reason for the withdrawal of the advertising contract must also be known. Is it due to other issues like changes in the company’s hierarchy or some internal disputes between the companies? Certain important global events like the Olympics or the World Cup could also drive advertisers away to greener pastures. A direct correlation between the loss of advertising and lack of local news has only been assumed and not substantiated in the argument.