The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position

The author's concern regarding the disposal of consumer generated waste is quite understandable. Which is the reason why he has proposed a stern policy for garbage control. However, instead of imposing harsh rules, options like "Reduce,Reuse,Recycle" should be advocated. People should be educated regarding the benefits of recycling the waste, rather than implementing laws that might not serve the intended purpose.

Let us first discuss the negative effects which the author's suggestion can give rise to. Garbage is generated in all most every activity that a person does in his daily life. Inhibiting that quantity seems unrealistic. Even if a strict policy is brought into place for restriction on waste generation, it is highly possible that illegal ways would be found out as an alternative to dispose the garbage. Instead of solving one problem, several other issues might pop up.

Efficient way to control garbage disposal is to recycle the waste items. This is a very environment friendly approach. Recycling the materials will result in conservation of natural resources, which in turn will be very advantageous for the health of our environment. Daily items like papers and steel cans should be reused once they have been recycled. A lot many trees can be saved and mineral resources can be protected from getting emptied.

Recycling is directly related to a nation's economy. Economy drastically comes down when the natural resources are used in an extravagant way. Reusing the the waste materials will not only save the resources but also generate jobs in abundance.

After the waste is collected, it has to be sorted out. The sorted material has to undergo several processes before it can be reused. This whole cycle has the potential to provide bread and butter to many people.

Hence, looking at the benefits of recycling the garbage, it has definitely got an upper hand over implementing a stern policy to control waste disposal. However, such laws can be useful in limiting the use of plastic that causes irreparable harm to the environment.