The best ideas arise from a passionate interest in commonplace things.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Observation is the first step to innovation. Having passionate interest in commonplace things, definitely gives birth to some of the best ideas. Passion is a kind of motivational force for an individual. However, many great ideas, say in terms of science, have been majorly reliant on theoretical studies. So, it would be too absolute to credit only "interest in commonplace things" as the sole generator of innovative ideas.

Let me first exemplify how close observation of commonplace things has led to wonderful discoveries. When Swiss engineer Mestral returned from hunting in 1941, he saw his dog covered with burdock burrs. On magnifying one, he saw a hook like design that could nimbly attach to socks or fur. In this way, he invented Velcro, which is till date regarded as the most successful instance of bio mimicry. Another group of engineers from Arnold Glass in Germany contributed to an amazing invention. Spiders protect their web with the help of silk threads that reflect ultraviolet rays. These rays help birds in recognizing the web as an obstacle and prevent them from accidentally bumping into the web. Now, the engineers coated the glass walls of the building with a web like design that reflected UV rays. Thus, birds got saved from having a collision with the glass.

Conversely, many scientific inventions are result of the rigorous study that scientists do. Tao - Green theorem, was invented by collaboration of two great scientists. Darwin's theory, Einstein's theory of relativity are some examples that have nothing to do with commonplace things.

To sum up, yes, ideas do spring from having passion in commonplace things. But, apart from passion, there are other factors like intense study relating to a field, that also contribute towards innovation.