Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Human beings are completely dependent on society as well as environment for their existence. Corporations are nothing but a group of people from our race who operate industries and drive the economy. End goal of any company is to make substantial profit. However, it is the moral duty of the companies to work for the betterment of the surroundings in which they function.

A part of the corporations wealth, if used for the welfare of the society people, can be a great help in a nation's endeavor to uplift its citizens. Many initiatives can be undertaken through Corporate Social Responsibility programs. To start with, teaching programs can be started in nearby rural areas, or the lower sections of the society. Computer courses, language sessions can be imparted to children. Frequent visits to old age homes should be organized to spend some quality time with the elder citizens of the country.

Mother nature has nourished us beyond expectations. However, modern day activities have left no stone upturned in causing irreparable harm to the environment. To compensate the atrocities inflicted on nature, various green programs should be run by the corporations. Tree plantation activities can be organized; slogans like "Save Water, Save Earth" must be advertised in public places. Emphasis should be given on recycling the waste. This will help not only in preserving the environment, but also boost the company's profit.

To sum, yes, it is of utmost importance for the corporations to make money. Without capital, factories can't function. But, in doing so, one must not forget his duty towards the society. Companies have gotten immense man power; which if utilized in a constructive way can make wonders for the society as well as environment.