Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Scandals in any form are perilous to the society. However, sometimes scandals do throw light on concerns which no speaker or reformer ever could. In general, scandals are the least favorable ways to focus attention on any problems. They are nothing but a stigma on the society. Scandals tend to drain the confidence of people from the government, which is very disturbing for a nation.

There cannot be a precious gift other than democracy to any country. People living in democratic nations like the USA are very fortunate to have gotten the right of exercising their freedom of speech. People have all the liberty to speak out their views on the issues faced by the country. I would like to justify my point by taking an example of Sir Martin Luther King Jr. He not only threw light on the subject of racism, but also awakened people to fight for their rights. He was successful in putting pressure on the government to amend unjustifiable laws. His extraordinary oratory skills did wonders for the betterment of black community in America.

Talking about some exceptions, let us now discuss about a country where the society is ruled by autocracy and not democracy. In North Korea, people are highly restricted in their actions. Let alone speaking in public, people do not even have freedom to get the hair cut of their own choice. In such extreme cases, scandals can be useful in shedding light on the problems of the society. There are hardly any ways apart from scandals that can put the government to shame for their wrong doings and take necessary steps in resolving the prevalent issues.

Sometimes scandals are very irrelevant for the common people. Misbehavior of prominent figures in their personal life or their involvement in sexual activities take the form of scandals. This plays a great deal in tarnishing the image of that person irrespective of how good he is on professional front. Public is not at all be concerned with a politician or a celebrity's personal life. Unless and until their actions prove to be harmful for the society, we should not be bothered about their personal life.

Concluding the topic, I would like to say that scandals do no good for any society. Speakers or reformers have definitely got an upper hand over scandals in focusing attention on problems. Scandals might be helpful in some exceptional scenarios where people do not have the right to discuss their problems in open.