The general welfare of a nation's people is a better indication of that nation's greatness than are the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

A nation's primary duty is to look after the well being of its people. However, linking greatness of the country to the prosperity of the citizens, would be an exaggeration. Looking after the needs of people is the moral responsibility of a nation's government. It is not any kind of obligation, as people are entitled to receive all the basic facilities. As per my view, a country should be deemed as "Great", when it does something exceptional in any field, be it science or art or any other vocation that wins accolades from all across the globe.

Rulers in democratic as well as monarchic nations propose and frame the policies for the development of the country. These policies are directly related to the well being of people. For example, Abraham Lincoln drew policies to end civil war in America, whose end result was welfare of the people. He made a considerable contribution in making the USA, a great nation.

Likewise, Winston Churchill can be linked to the greatness of England. His extraordinary leadership skills during second world war are remembered till date.

Contribution of scientists or artists can hardly be sidelined while measuring the greatness of a country. Neil Armstrong, the first person to walk on moon made his country, the USA extremely proud of his achievement. Even other nations had to acknowledge this great achievement in the field of science. Coming to artists, let me quote Pablo Picasso, the world renowned painter from Spain. His work is appreciated even in the modern days.

To conclude, yes, welfare of people should be linked to the greatness of a country, but by no means it is a better measure than the contribution of artists, rulers or scientists in a country's progress. Unless and until, people of a nation do something out of the box, which not only benefits their own country, but also works wonders for the entire mankind, I will not attribute that nation as "Great".