Some people claim that the goal of politics should be the pursuit of an ideal. Others argue that the goal should be finding common ground and reaching reasonable consensus

Politics is a very complex subject, and so is the issue of what it should pursue. I, personally believe that the goal of politics should be finding a common ground and reaching reasonable consensus. Talking about ideals in politics might sound unreal. Politics revolves around the needs of public, and pursuit of a particular ideal might not align with the ideology of common people. Appeasing an entire population by creating a "win-win" situation for everybody should be the foremost priority of politics.

Political policies directly affect the day-to-day life of each and every person. Pursuit of an ideal might work positively for a particular section of society, but it is highly possible that the other section gets perturbed by those policies. For example, there would be a sky high difference between the goals of a rural population and that of an urban one. In these situations, the most appropriate action should be to reach a common ground which reap fruitful results for all the folks. Again, this would lead the nation onto the the path of progress without any hindrance. Also, the faith of people in government would remain sock steady if a reasonable resolution is churned out.

Moreover, this is an era of globalization. A nation will be singled out, if its policies don't take into consideration other country's religious and cultural ideas. A best example here would be of North Korea. The country has long isolated itself from others and has progressed nowhere. On the other hand, the USA have thrived by leaps and bounds. This is because they are open to all cultures, and their policies fit anyone coming from any corner of the world.

Conversely, politics should not sideline the ideals that are common to majority of the population. Ideals like basic standard of living, good educational and medical facilities are something which every citizen looks for. No compromise should be made on this front. Pursuit of such ideals will not only appease people, but also help in cementing their confidence in the government.

To conclude, politics should mainly focus on the betterment of people by giving minimal mileage to ideals that don't work for an entire population. This is possible, only if a common ground is found by keeping in mind the goals of every section of the society and reaching a reasonable resolution. However, certain ideals aforementioned that are in interest of all the citizens, should never be compromised.