In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should be required to step down after five years.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Should people with extraordinary leadership skills step down after a certain point? This question is indeed a debatable one,; to answer which, many parameters have to be taken into consideration. As per my view, it should not be a thumb rule for the leaders to step down after a stipulated time period even if they are meeting the expectations in their respective fields. There should be a provision for extending or reducing the tenure based on the effectiveness of a person.

Let me quote an example from the world of politics that will raise a potential question to the policy of leaders stepping down after serving for few years. John Buchanan was considered as an effective President of the USA, until the civil war broke out there. His inability in restoring the peace led him to step down from his position. He was succeeded by Abraham Lincoln, he continued to serve the country till his last breathe. People re-elected him, owing to his charisma and his capability of tackling various issues. This clearly indicates that if a person is worthy enough to continue in a role, it is not a wise step to replace him. In fact, by doing so we might hinder the path of a country's progress.

Conversely, it is also important to look at the other side of the coin too. New talent should also be given a chance to showcase their skills and prowess. Many students take professional courses in universities, among which computer science and technology is one of the favorite ones. Technology changes every now and then. If the dean of the computer department has been serving in his post for more than ten years, it is highly possible he might not be in sync with the latest trends in the technology. In such a scenario, one can think of giving a chance to a new talent who not only is aware of the most recent happenings in the field of computer science, but also has a better vision than the existing leader for the growth of students.

In sum, it is a grave mistake to ignore the young and dynamic minds by blindly continuing with the existing leaders. Change is the law of nature. Leadership should be changed, but on merit basis. If a leader is found to be not performing his job diligently, he should be definitely replaced. Policy of replacement will serve two purposes: it will enforce the leader to work efficiently, and secondly, new talent will not be wasted.