Claim: Major policy decisions should always be left to politicians and other government experts.

Reason: Politicians and other government experts are more informed and thus have better judgment and perspective than do members of the general public.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based

Politicians are regarded as the representatives of common people; while government experts are the subject matter specialists in their respective fields. To put simply, there is no denying that the politicians and other government officers are much more informed than the general public. Hence, it would be absolutely sensible to affirm that major decisions regarding policy formation should be left to leaders and officials. However, public opinion is of utmost importance while framing some policies as they directly impact the common man. Though the power to take the final decision should always lie with government, people's genuine interests should not be snubbed.

Government primarily focuses on financial policies to make the country economically strong. Economists, financial experts, and leaders put their brains together to sketch out the best possible ways to give a boost to the economy. Financial policies are bit complex and not so easy for other people to comprehend. Foreign trade laws and GDP related issues can not be understood by everyone. But, while deciding tax slabs, provident fund and gratuity related norms, views of general public should definitely be taken into account. If majority of the people are opposed to paying tax on their provident fund amount, then such offensive policies should not be encouraged.

It is highly possible that officials might misuse their power for personal gains. For example, companies are often provided a wilderness to set up their production factories. Doing so, can snatch away the livelihood of those living nearby the factory area. Also, it may cause damage to endangered species. In that case, it is inevitable for general public to come into picture before any policy is framed. Surely companies should not benefit at the cost of common people.

To recapitulate, right to make policy decisions should be with the politicians and the government experts. But, to ensure that those policies don't act against the well being of people, it is important to involve members of general public while forming important policies.