It is more harmful to compromise one's own beliefs than to adhere to them.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Belief is a notion, which the mind thinks is right, but there is no evidence to prove its credibility. Truth and belief are two different entities having only a meager quantity of knowledge in common. There is no protocol to define a belief. Different people have different beliefs, and it solely depends on an individual, if he is willing to compromise his notions. I feel, compromising one's beliefs sometimes can turn fortunes for a person, while blindly sticking to any idea might do no good. Without deep analysis of the situation a person is in, it is difficult to assert that comprising a belief is more harmful than adhering to it.

In present day situation, there is lot of competition among the youth for securing their jobs. Number of vacancies are limited when compared to the number of students graduating in any field. It is highly possible that an engineering graduate might get an offer of a clerical job, which is not pertaining to his field of study. Now, if the techie holds on to a belief that a technical person should not undertake any non technical work, then he is committing a big mistake. His financial condition might be desperately wanting him to start working as soon as possible. The best step in this case, would be to compromise on one's beliefs. Although, the idea of a technical person switching to non technical domain might not sound pleasing at first instant. But, the situation is demanding the person to give up on his notions rather than adhering to the same.

It is also important to consider another side of this argument, when one should definitely not compromise on one's beliefs. It is said, "The only thing that does not abide by the majority rule is a person's conscience." At work places, it is common to encounter situations where a person would be compelled to act against the integrity of standards. Bribery and corruption is rampant in today's world. No official can remain untouched from it. An individual is required not only to show rock solid faith is belief of not encouraging any unfair means, but should also religiously to adhere it. Ideals should never be compromised, for they portray a person's character.

To sum up, I would reiterate that compromising beliefs might not prove harmful if they are sacrificed for a rightful purpose. While, it is of utmost importance to adhere to one's ideals or beliefs, when morality is at stake.