Claim: Researchers should not limit their investigations to only those areas in which they expect to discover something that has an immediate, practical application.

Reason: It is impossible to predict the outcome of a line of research with any certainty.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Researches tend to improve the life of human beings in one way or the other. I, agree with the claim, that researchers should carry out their study even in the those fields where immediate practical application of their discoveries is not possible. Researches are basically classified into two categories - basic research and applied research. Basic research aims at welfare of people by enhancing the existing scientific discoveries, while applied research is mainly focused on addressing the immediate problems of the society. Although outcomes are uncertain, scientists do have basic insights, whether their work is going to fetch the desired results. Let me elaborate my views in detail, that would strengthen the claim, but weaken the reason.

In today's world population is growing at a rapid pace, and natural resources are on the brink of exhaustion. It is inevitable for us to find a place other than earth where the breed of humans can continue. In the wake of this unavoidable situation, scientists are meticulously studying the characteristics of planets like Mars, since many decades. Even if it is found that life can flourish on Mars, people cannot be directly sent to an imaginary place. Few more years might be consumed in observing the progress of life on another planet. The point here to focus on is, many useful discoveries need ample amount of time before their practical application.

World has always been hit with a lot of deadly epidemics since the early ages. For example, small pox was rampant in 19th century. People in many countries, especially the underdeveloped ones bore the brunt of this deadly disease. At that time there was an immediate need to address this grave concern. Scientists from many nations pulled up their socks to study the characteristics of the virus that caused small pox, and succeeded in inventing a vaccine that almost eradicated the disease within few years. When the scientists undertook this challenge of finding a remedy to small pox, there must have been some level of certainty of getting the positive results. If the outcomes are totally uncertain, no government would fund the scientific studies and progress would come to a halt.

To recapitulate, scientists should definitely study the areas of research where they think that immediate application of the inventions would not be possible. However, I would disagree with the reason cited to justify the claim, because scientists are clever enough to predict certainty of the desired results, though to a small extent.