Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Inferences made in the argument based on certain assumptions sound quite intriguing. But, I feel these presumptions lack authenticity and cannot be termed as facts. Every individual has different perspective to look things at. Though I respect the author's view point, but somehow I am not convinced with the reason given for woven baskets not being uniquely Palean. Also, a lot have factors have been sidelined while framing this argument which I would like to highlight upon in my upcoming points.

Not finding Palean boats, doesn't mean Paleans didn't discover them. It is highly probable, that the boats got destroyed due to some or the other reason. There is also a possibility of these boats not being discovered by anyone till today. What if in the ancient times, this river never existed ? There is no proof of when Brim river came into existence. In that case, Paleans would have easily come into contact with the Lithos and shared their baskets with them too.

It is not mentioned that Paleans were the first human species that came into existence. Might be they borrowed these baskets from somebody else. Apart from it, nothing is highlighted on the number of baskets that were found in this vicinity. Encountering just one or two such kind of artifacts, doesn't make sense to reach any conclusion on the origin of Palean baskets. Weaving is a kind of art. For these baskets to have been discovered by Paleans, they must have mastered the art of weaving the baskets. But the argument is not at all throwing any light on their skills.

To conclude, it is very difficult to say whether the baskets discovered by Paleans were uniquely theirs. The argument is full of loop holes and many factors have not been taken into consideration. Even if these baskets didn't belong to Paleans, there is absence of bolstering points to support this assumption. Rigorous study and research needs to conducted on this fascinating topic that would yield some rock solid evidences to back or oppose the argument.