The effectiveness of a country's leaders is best measured by examining the well-being of that country's citizens.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Effectiveness of a leader cannot be measured simply on the basis of one parameter. Of course, well being of the citizens is one of the aspects, it is important to consider many other things before attributing leaders as effective. Again, the term "Well Being" has many strings attached to it. Health, employment, transport facilities, quality of living and many more amalgamate to decide the well being of people.

Let us sneak peak into the history and discuss about the most controversial leader the world has ever seen, Adolf Hitler. Nobody can doubt on the effectiveness of this yesteryear's ruthless leader. Under his leadership, country scaled heights in terms of development and became one of the strongest nations. However, it was his rigidity and stubbornness, that led to the downfall of Germany. Had he been resilient in his approach to tackle foreign affairs, Germany would not have been handed a defeat in second world war.

Coming to present day, no other leader can exemplify effectiveness as profoundly as the US President, Barack Obama. He has been exceptional in framing as well as executing policies of the country. His approach to shield the people from terrorism has been impeccable. Citizens are not only safe in the country, but their health and other needs are also given utmost importance. It might be wrong to credit only one leader for all the developments that have happened in America. In fact, it has been a continuous effort of all the leaders who have come into power since the inception of the country.

To sum, yes, well being of people is an important factor while measuring effectiveness of leaders. But, it can't be the sole tool of measurement. It is also an individual's responsibility to take care of himself. Leaders cannot be made accountable for each and every action of theirs. Government can build laws and policies, that will act for the prosperity of citizens. Onus is on the people to make the most out of it.