The best test of an argument is the argument's ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Arguments are meant to exchange views on a particular subject. To some extent, it might be true, that convincing people with opposing viewpoints tests the effectiveness of an argument. However, a lot of other factors should also be taken into consideration while judging the credibility of an argument. Different people have different perspectives and thought processes while discussing any topic. It is very important to understand the level of knowledge as well as mind set of the opposing folks, before measuring the worth of an argument.

It is indeed a good sign for an argument to receive opposing ideas. It proves that the person making an argument has a deep and profound knowledge of the subject on which he is making a statement. Another positive signal is that, people are able to comprehend what the arguer is trying to convey. Opposing views are very healthy for any argument, for they throw light on the untouched parts of the topic. In a way, these contradicting points compel the arguer to look at his own subject from others' viewpoint. The person has to expand his horizons of thinking in defending his own theory, to convince the opponents. In this scenario, convincing people with opposing views is the best test of an argument, as it would calculate the potential of that argument.

Conversely, many people simply oppose others' ideas out of their tendency to do so. There is no weight in the points raised by such opponents due to lack of knowledge on the subject. Oftentimes, people take an emotional stand to the arguments rather than going for a practical approach. In such cases, it is not only difficult, but, even meaningless to attribute the convincing ability of an argument as its best test.

To recapitulate, yes, power of an argument in convincing the opponents can be the best test of that argument. But, it is dependent on the prowess of the people making counter arguments. Each and every individual discussing the topic must have a prudent knowledge of the subject. Discussion has to be unbiased, keeping personal differences aside and not letting emotions to indulge in.