A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

Education is the most basic and powerful tool for the development of an individual. A nation's progress depends on the growth of its children, and to stride exponentially on that path, the blooming buds should be rendered the best education possible. The government of a country should be very cautious in designing the educational system, as it is the stepping stone for shaping the future of its citizens. Maintaining a uniform curriculum across the nation, will be highly beneficial to the students. Although, some amendments should be allowed so that individual states can incorporate the required changes based on their culture and languages.

Uniformity in the educational system, would help children compete at national level. A student living in any village of the country will have the equal privilege of studying the same material as someone staying in the city. This will lead to healthy competition among the students and make wonders for them. Also, it would be easier to judge the knowledge levels of the students appearing for an entrance test before getting admitted to universities. There will not be any need to design separate exams as the knowledge base of all the students would be common.

A country will also get economical benefited by implementing a national curriculum. Cost incurred in the production of books will be reduced to a great extent, as the same books would be published in bulk. Conducting examinations will also get cheaper owing to commonality of the curriculum. A unified platform can be set up to train the teachers who will be teaching the subjects in schools. A single training can be imparted and costs can be cut substantially.

However, some amendments should be allowed that could benefit students in one way or the other. In a country like India, there are more than twenty states and each state has its own language and culture. Including all regional languages in the national curriculum makes no sense. Instead, such subjects can be included by individual states based on their culture and language. This will help children to get a better insight of their roots. Knowing of about one's mother tongue is equally important as learning any international language.

Wrapping the discussion, I would strongly advocate for the national level curriculum to be followed across the country. Taking this step will play a pivotal role in the growth of children, which in turn will propel the nation on the path of progress. Although, flexibility should be given to the states to make reasonable amendments to the system to ensure that the students are not deprived of cultural knowledge.