The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.

At present, waste managament and mitigating environmental issues arising from waste have been a key problem faced by the town and city councils all over the world. With the growth of population and sophisticated needs of the citizens, the situation is only bound to be worsen. limiting the waste accepted by the authorites in their collections seems to provide a persuasive solution with a negative reinforcement towards the citizen. The underlying assumption is that the citizens would adjust their waste disposal in accordance with the waste collection limits, hence reducing the waste altogether. However when analysed critically one could see that this recommendatio is rife woth holes and shortcommings. furthermore, claiming this to be the best solution for the problems caused by the waste to the environment is being optimistic and hopeful at most. On the other hand there are several other practical solutions for this problem with higher effectiveness and lesser negative consequences. it is with this stream of argument I disagree with the given claim, that imposing waste collection limits will result in reduced damage to environment by waste.

when a collection limit is imposed, rather than striving to achiev the limit through regulated waste disposal, the citizens may try to improperly dispose the over the limit waste they have gathered. this may very well worsen the current environmetal situation, let alone solvinf it. furthermore, the city councols may need to impose additional laws and dedicate city council resources to regulate this type of improper littering, wchich will result in an added economic loss.

another key factor that ths recommendation seem to overlook is the almost impossibility to objectively decide on such limits. The waste disposal may depend on different factors such as area of the town, time of the year, and individual daily activites of the citizens that is highly variant from one to another. thus such a waste limit would result restiveness in some groups of citizens, if they percieve them as unjust. In such a situation, the imposed limit would be igored by the citizens altogether, resulting in no ultimate positove effect, but a negative effect due to displease among the citizens.

there are modern and more progrssive solutions that the city coucils could implement. Employing recycling plants in or in the vicinity of the city would allow the city councils to recycle the waste and put back to use, as opposed to releasing them to the environment. cities could also implement waste processing plants, which will allow them to release the waste to the environment in a non leathal form. energy generation usnig waste is already tried and practiced around the world, thus cities can adopt these methods to convert waste into energy, which would be beneficial in both environment and economic sense in the long run.

The city authorities can also take the approach of positive reinforcement when addressing the citizens. they could provide incentives for managed wste disposal, which will strike the importance of waste management in the citizens in a more positive way. this would be more effective than a limit that address the citizens in a more imposive and negative way.

The city councils should take a more positive and progressive approach in addresing the waste problem. Otherwise it would only result in economical and environental losses, along with public unrest, in the long run.