Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

corporations are artificial enitities made by humnas with the motive of making profits, which translates mainly to money. These entities allow such profit generation through the collaberation of the resources, man power and, more importantly, ambition. At present, one sees hiw the CEOs of the corporations hound behind profits , competeing with their rivals. this is, intuitive, given that their main purpose is satisfying the shareholders by giving the rewards that they risked for through investment. this may very well be the underlying argument for the claim that corporations should, abiding by the law, make their sole responsibility to much as money as possible. Though in a total monetory and narrow perspective this is true, it is rife with patches in the perspective of ethics, sutainability and suprisingly, economically. corporations that make making money their only responsibility are bound to recieve backlash from the society, governments, and ultimately from the market itself making their sole purpose rendering moot. it is due with this argument that I feel akin tothe claim that corporations should promote well being of the societies and the environments they operate in, besides pursuing monetary gains.

employees of a given corporation comes, more often than not, from the same society tat the corporation works in. thus, a corporation promoting the well being of the society would be more likely to actually engage in the harnessing and nourishing the current and the potential human resource of that corporation. In this sense, it would be an investment rather than a cost. When looking from the perspecticve from the society, one would more likely to be a employee of a company that ones sees as an ethical, caring and responsible one, rather than for a company that seems to pursue only money, which are more likely to turn a blind eye on the employee welfare. thus a company promoting social well being would achieve monetary gains in the long run.

People are now more than ever concious about the climate changes that are happening. Even the most skeptics of the climate change are now rethinking their alternative hypothesis. Contemperory society have more progressive ideas, and it is only natural that they would favour the corporations that support and share similar idealogies. thus it would be more likely that a company that have environment friendly campaing to gain more public trust, and hence more market share. large market share translates to monetary gains, which a company that turns a blind eye towards environmental responsibiity would not get.

The cultures around the worls are changing, so are the corporate cultures. The claim that "pursue money, you will get rich"would have been a golden rule few decades back, but now with the more progressive generations taking over the market, the strategies and the rules of the game of the corporations should change too. If they fail to adapt to thess changes, they are bound to loose, that is they will loose the monetary interests they dearly pursue.