“Collectors prize the ancient life-size clay statues of human figures made on Kali Island but have long wondered how Kalinese artists were able to depict bodies with such realistic precision. Since archaeologists have recently discovered molds of human heads and hands on Kali, we can now conclude that the ancient Kalinese artists used molds of actual bodies, not sculpting tools and techniques, to create these statues. This discovery explains why Kalinese miniature statues were abstract and entirely different in style: molds could be used only for life-size sculptures. It also explains why few ancient Kalinese sculpting tools have been found. In light of this discovery, collectors predict that the life-size sculptures will decrease in value while the miniatures increase in value.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author in the argument suggests that the life size sculptures in the island of kali have used life size molds rather than sculpting tools and techniques and thus, these sculpture will lose the value while the miniature sculptures increasing their values. The argument when looked at a superficial level seems plausible and intuitive. The underlying assumptions of the author are that the molds found have been used to create the sculptures, and that such usage of molds will decrease their value. However to arrive at the final conclusion that the author conveys, there are several queries that the critical analyser of this argument may come across, mainly due to the ambiguities in the author's assupmtions. answering to these queries would provide more clarifications on these underlying assumption, hence paving way for a better evaluation of the argument.

The author's main argument is that since the life sized sculptures have used mmolds, their value would be reduced in the market. Here the author fails to consider several other factors that determine the value of a sculpture. For example the collectors may be keen on the number of sculpture that are remaining from that era. if there are only few of them are available, the collectors would still value them at high prices. Another query to make is the historical importance of these sculptures. The sculptures may be valued for their historical importance rather than the technique with which they were made. In such a case too, the value of the sculptures may not be reduced, which would severly underming the underlying assumptions of the author, and hence the conclusion.

Now let's consider the fact that the collectors actually valued the technique of the sculpting. In such a case, if the molds were used to make the sculptures it would devalue the life size sculptures. But the author fails to provide satisfactory evidence linking the molds to the life size sculpture. For example, it would be worthwhile to query about the datings of the sculptures and the molds. if the sculpture predate way back than the molds, the link would between the molds and the sculptures would be very weak. In such a case, it would be more telling of the sculpting prowess of the ancient Kalinese artists and their techniques, which would be contradictory to the conclusion of the author.

The collectors might value the dating of the sculptures. if the life size sculptures predates the miniature sculptures in a significant manner, the collectors would still value the former over the latter. thus it would be worthwhile to query the dating of the sculpture; to which historic era they belong, which would shed more light on the matter.

Before arriving at the conclusion of the author, it would be worthhile to query the interest among the collectors in miniature sculptures. For example, the collectors may assign higher values for sculptures with large sizes. In such a case, no matter the technique used, the life sized sculptures would be highly valuated as opposed to the miniature sculptures. this would call for serious revaluation of the argument and the final conclusion.

The author in this argument have overlooked several key areas that affect the final conclusion significantly. providing answers to the queries presented above would help clarify the argument and more accurate evaluation of the conclusion.