The city council of Town X has proposed reducing the city’s electric expenses by switching all the lights in public buildings from incandescent bulbs to light-emitting diodes (LEDs). The switch would be made gradually as the old incandescent bulbs burn out, and the city council reasons that since LED lights burn brighter and cost no more to purchase, the switch would help Town X save money on electrical costs in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to help evaluate the efficacy of the city council’s proposal to save money on electrical costs. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the council’s prediction.

The author of the proposal suggest that the replacement of incandescent bulbs that are currenntly being employed in the public buiildings by led bulbs would result in lesser future energy costs, and virtually zero implementation cost. This proposl seems viable and the claims in the proposal in a superficial level, as it appeals to the intuitions that have build around the usage of leds and incandescent lights. However, when analysed critically, one would find the proposal is rife with ommisions pertaining to clarifications and justifications. The critical reader would have some queries generated, answers to which will clear the ambiguities and doubts regarding the proposal.

The author suggest a future cost saving in energy spendings due to the replacement. it would be interesting to look at the energy consumptions pertaining to the incandescent bulbs in public buildings. For example, if the public buildings operate almost all the times only at day time, the usage of any kind of inddor lighting could be near zero, given adequate daylight. In such occasions, changing the type of the bulbs used for indoor lighting would not bring about any cost cutting. Furthermore, if the employees were concsious about the power consumption of the incandescent bulbs and were thrifty intheir usage of artificial lighting earlier, now would not be as frugal due to the notion that led is an "energy saver". In such a case, the city council would experience increased electricity bills, contradicting the fundamental goal they are trying to achieve. thus it would be worthwhile to assess the contribution of incandescent lights to the energy consumption of public buildings.

The proposal also suggest that the replacement be done when the bulbs are burnt out. it would be interesting to assess its practical viability. For example, the there would be easier access to a supply of incanescent bulbs rather than the leds, at times of sudden burnouts. At such moments, it would be inconvenitent to the employess or the public for waiting for an led bulb. In such a scenario, led bulb replacements may result in social costs, in the form of delayed delivery of work or public frustration.

The suggested one by one replacement of bulbs strategy raises another subtle question in an economic sense. Whether the led bulbs are bought in bulk, stocked and used to replaced whenever needed, or bought in very small quentities when needed. In a case of stocking scenario, the council should look at the cost implications that are in the form of inventory costs. In a samll quantity buying case, they shuold consider the opportunity cost they incur by not buying in bulk. queries should be made to find the optimum balance, should the council decides to buy the leds.

The author of the proposal is clearly seen to be relaying on trivial and intuitive facts regarding energy conservation in general, rather than relating to the specific case. thus, it would prudednt to make above queries to clarify and prove the validity of the proposal more elaborately.