The extended family is less important now than it was in the past.

extended families had beeen the norm in the distant past for families, where families consisted of grand parents, aunts, uncles, cousins and other close relatives having close bonds. this is in fact the case even now in most of the asian countries. but at present, the norms of family structure and bonds are changing from extended family to nuclear family, where close bonds only exist between children and parents. I strongly believe that this trend is not desireble for the society as a whole in the long run. it is with this strong belief I disagree with the statement that the extended family is less important now than it was in the past. In contrast, I suggest that the need for an extended family exists now more than ever. I will explain my stand in the following essay.

Advent of the social media has paved the way to the creation of a plethora of artificial relationships and bonds. people use relationships as an exhibit item to be show cased for the society rather than as a spiritual support and connection. thus, there is a need to revitalize the true meaning of a relationship. extended families will just do that. extended families provide relationships like grandchildren-grandparent, cousin-cousin, uncle-nephew, etc. that constitute a more genuine form of relationship. Such relationships are more likely to result in moral support for each other, where as artificial relationships like those in social media result in envy, jelousy, hypocracy etc. thus extended families are needed to create good relationships among people in the society.

Moreover, people are increasingly livng a busy and hectic life. parents nowadays barely have time to look after their children, as in most cases both parents engage in full time jobs. In this context, parents need support in raising their children. On the other hand, children need more warmth which they do not recieve from their parents. extended families can solve this issue. grand parents can offer help in looking after the childrens while parents are away. they would be a more reliable shelter for the parents to leave children, since they themselves have raised children and they have genuine love towards the young ones, as opposed to some child day care centre where the main motive is profit making, rather than child well being. In this manner extended families would reduce tension in families.

people are leaving from the extended culture because of the busy hectic lives, but do not realize that the relief and soothing for their hectic lives lie in extended families in the first place.thus, one could see the necessity and the importnace of extended families, now more than ever.