The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the argument tries to convey that the increment of the time devoted to broadcasting national news along with reduced time devoted to the local and weather news have genereated diplease among the viewers so as to recieve complaints on whether and local news coverage, and also have resulted in local business owners cancelling advertisement agreements. this argument seems intuitive and well directed when looked at a superficial level. However when critically examined, the wording and the evidence provided for the argument suggest that the argument needs more subtantiating and reinforecement. At the current state of the argument, it is rife with subtle but key ommissions and bypasses, that needs specific evidences to justify or clarify.

The author of the argument conveys that the most of the people have complained about the coverage on the local and weather news after the change. but he/she fails to mention which aspect of the coverage the audience are taking a disliking in. For example, the content of the weather news may have been false and not dependable. Another example would be the station forcasting unimportant news, whereas there are more critical situations in the local area that needs coverage. In such cases, simply reverting to the previous structure of delivery is not the solution. thus evidence is needed to clarify that that people are actually concerned with the timing structure, rather than the content.

The author further conveys that the advertisement contracts with local businesses have been cancelled, and links the change of structure of news times to it. this kind of cancallation may suggest many other concerns, rather than a time allocation change. For example, the station, in covering more national news, if they are biased towrds a specific political party or heavily chastising a political party, businesses would not be comfortable runnung their advertisments in such a news sation. thus it would be crucial to analyse the national news contetn they are forecasting, which may show possible reasons for local businesses to pull out from advertisement agreements, rather than attach it to the time duration change

Another aspect to look at is whether the station is actually losing advertisment revenue. current agreement holders cancelling their advertisment agreements does not necessarily mean that noe new businesses join with the station; local or national. thus it would be interesting to look at the advertisement revenue of late, rather than looking at the cancellation of the exisitng agreements, as it would give more direct insight on the matter.

The author of the given argument neesd to consider looking at the aspects specified above to clarify his argument more strongly. As at now, it is rife with holes that weakens the argument severly.