It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject

At the infomation age, there is no shortage of information around us. People have access to vast and diverse knowledge pools. Thus, people are exposed to a variety of academic fields now more than ever. In such context it is the new trend among people, let alone academics, to study a spectra of fields rather than specializing in one specific field. I strongly believe that this is a good trend, and hence I agree with the claim that it is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject. I will convey the reasons for my stand in the follwoing essay.

At present, the types of projects that are undertaken include a complex combination of several seemingly unrelated areas. Engineers, scientiests, architects etc. are compelled to engage in projects that reside in territories that conventional wisdom in their majoring field does not overlap with. For example, nowadays software engineers need to work on software for genetic research. Although an in depth knowledge on genetics is not needed in the task, a brief knowledge helps the software engineers to build accurate and efficient needed pieces of software. Due to this new nature of projects, the contemporary job market demands for candidates who has a broader knowledge on several fields, rather than specialization in one. Thus, it is clear how borad knowledge in several academic fields helps one to achieve more in the current job market.

Another reason to have broad knowledge in different fields is that the rate of fields dying off or transitioning. For example, the long time standing academic field of image processing is now dying off, due to the advent of deep learning. Deep learning is now undertaking tasks, that were previously done using image processing, more efficiently. Thus, a borad knowledge in many academic subjects allows an academic or a graduate for smooth transitions or shifts of fields, which is highly prevailant in the current day and age.

Thus, it is clear how, in the modern day academic society, it is important to have a broader knowledg on different academic fields. Specialization in one specific field on the other hand would prove to be disadvantageous, and such practice has now become almost prohibitive.