The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a Batavia newspaper.

"The department of agriculture in Batavia reports that the number of dairy farms throughout the country is now 25 percent greater than it was 10 years ago. During this same time period, however, the price of milk at the local Excello Food Market has increased from $1.50 to over $3.00 per gallon. To prevent farmers from continuing to receive excessive profits on an apparently increased supply of milk, the Batavia government should begin to regulate retail milk prices. Such regulation is necessary to ensure fair prices for consumers."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the recommendation suggest that the Bataian diary farmers have increased by some percentage over past ten years, but since a local market have increased their prices for milk in the same time period, the government should regulate the milk prices to reduce excessive profits on the farmers and to provide the consumers with a fair price. The argument in a superficial level would appeal to the unattentive reader as a reasonable argument. The argument is seemingly intuitive in the sense that an increased supply of a product should generally result in an decreased supply of sales prices, and since this have not happened, customers are at a loss. However, the critical peruser of the argument would reaveal that the argument is rife woth holes and ommissions, without which the recommendation along with its suggested results cannot be evaluated in a satisfactory manner. The critical analyser would have some queries, answers to which would shed some light into the underlying assumptions of the author and their validity, hence clarifying the arguement and evaluating the suggested results.

The author suggest that there is a twent five percent increase in number of diary farmers in the country. this suggest an increase in a superficial level, but a more direct quantitative value would bolster enlightment. For example, if the number of farmers before 10 years were a very small number like 100, a 25 percent increase would not suggest a significant increase of milk supply, if the population of Batavia is comparatively large. In such a scenario, regulation of prices would be an unjust burden on the diary farmers, which would discourage them from the proffesion, which would ultimately rsult in increased prices as opposed to the suggested outcome of the recommendation by the author.

The author then states that a specific local store have increased the price of milk. A worthwhile question to ask would be, is this increase a more general situation, or just specific to the local market mentioned; Excello Food market. A regulatory action acted upong milk prices in general would strike all the other markets as an unjust verdict. this would result in reduced milk selling in markets, which would in turn further increase the market prices of milk in the few that would continue selling, which is contradicting the authors original conclusion.

When looking from a different perspective, there might have been new regulations imposing on the quality on the diary milk production. In such a situation, despite the increased candidates in the supply side, increased manufacturing costs might have resulted in ultimately increased selling price. applying regulatory prices in such a case, needless to say to a free market price, farmers would be frustrated as they would fail to cover their manufacturing costs. farmers abondaing the profession due to lack of profitability would ultimately increase the milk prices, let along decreasing.

Despite special increased manufacturing costs, natural inflation maight also have affected this phenomenon. applying regulations for a free market price inflated due to normal inflation, would again be deem to be unjust and wrongly punative. this would reep the similar outcomes contradictory to the one that the author suggest.

The author in his recommendation have overlooked several factors that are crucial on the matter, before arriveing at a conclusion. The underlying assumptions of the argument used by the author are weak and need some clarification to be reasonable. The queries mentioned above would help clarify the validity of the argument, and hence would help evaluate the final outcome suggested more accuratey.