the following appeared in a letter to the editor of a Batavia newspaper."The department of agriculture in Batavia reports that the number of dairy farms throughout the country is now 25 percent greater than it was 10 years ago. During this same time perio

From the information given, Batavia faces a situation in which there is an extra supply of dairiy products with a simultaneous excesive increase of the milk price. If agriculture is growing in Batavia and becoming such a relevant sector in this region, the case should be carefully studied before the government takes action in this matter.

One important question raises when considering this problem: are the dairy farms actually producing milk? Although this question may seem dumb, this problem could be the result of fraudulent farms. This situation is likely if, for example, there is economic support for new farms. In this case, the government must consider if any mechanism could be the cause of a particular interest in starting a farm.

In the case that these new farms are not a deceit, it is important to know the cause of the significant increase in the number of farms. Some innovative agricultural methods or practices on the cows, could increase the production of dairy products (and the interest on investing in such projects), but imply, at the same time, an increase of its price. If this is the case, decreasing the prices of these products will only cause a decrese in thir production.

If the answers to these questions are given, and there is no justfication for an increase of the prices, then the solution of the letter would the best option. This could provide the best solution for some unwanted processes, for example, as a farmers' strategy to get more money, or a consequence of the competition between them.

Hence, the government of Batavia, should only implement this solution after considering the needs of, not only the general citizens affected by the prices increase, but also of the farmers that produce these products.