The general welfare of a nation's people is a better indication of that nation's greatness than are the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disag

If the greatness of a nation is measured by the welfare of it's people, then the statement supports a view in which the citizens of a nation and their needs are the priority. This point of view is logical, taking into account that the base of a nation is the people that conforms it and the relations between them. We can imagine the people as the different pieces out of which this complex machine - the nation- is made of. If any piece is defectous, the entire machine will not work propperly.

For example, European nordic countries have focussed their attention in providing solutions to basic problems of their citizens: funding for education, economic help for their citizens, public healthcare, etc. These countries are generally considered as "great countries", where the system works propperly and the people doesn't have serious problems.

The general opinion about these countries differs greatly from other countries in which developments are more relevant in specific aspects, like science, arts or politics. Clear examples are China or Brazil, where some of these developments lead to a very polarized society. Where scientific research is leading, and you can find luxury places, but there is still people in the streets asking for food or money.

To sum up, it is important to defend the importance of each person that is part of a society, and any tendency to give more relevance to small groups should be erradicated.