The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The consumer generated waste causes some environmental problems and the prompt suggests that cities should limit amount of trash they would accept from each household. However, restricting the amount of trash that will be accepted from each household would be detrimental than being beneficial due to two crucial reasons.

First, the implementation of the idea would lead people to dump their trash on the random locations. For the most households, the waste is produced because of their lifestyle, not because of something that’s malleable and extraneous, and hence people wouldn’t be able to decrease the amount of trash just because government puts a limit. Instead, people will dump the additional trash to the random places of the town, and as a result, the amount of trash wouldn’t change, and additional work would be needed to collect the trash around the town.

Secondly, the realization of the idea would predicate a decrease in the comfort of the living. As stated, the amount of trash produced directly depends on the lifestyles of the people. For that reason, if the people decrease the amount of waste, they need to compromise from their lifestyles, and this task could be impossible depending on the household. As an example, a household with more kids would produce more trash than a household without kids whether they try or not. Therefore, the implementation of the idea would be detrimental to some families which are more prone to the extra consumption.

Undeniably, the actualization of the idea would decrease the amount of the trash produced. However, there are numerous methods that would have the same benefits but without the harm of the idea. As an example, a tax proportional to the amount of trash produced can be implemented. The tax would dissuade people from producing extraneous rubbish to avoid paying extra tax, and the people would be able to get rid of their dross if they aren’t able to lessen their leftover production.

To sum up, the limiting the amount of trash that government will collect could have some beneficial effects, but it would cause some people to throw their trash into random locations of the town and would punish people who aren’t able to decrease their trash because of inherent aspects of the household. Overall, there are other methods which are impactful as much as the limitation but with lesser detriments, such as taxing, tax returns to people who produce lesser trash.