Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In modern democracies, the attention of the public is analogous to a focusing lens, without it, the power of government will not able to focus on the problems efficiently. However, this attention is a rather limited source, its’ power plummets if it tries to focus on multiple things and hence, something is required to keep this attention focused on prominent problems. Scandals excel in this focusing task in a way no speaker or reformer ever could dream due to two main reasons.

Every scandal, by its own nature, consists of a story. These stories tend to be extreme and tragic stories with startling details, otherwise they wouldn’t be considered a scandal, which makes it easier to focus for public. Moreover, scandals have generally morally white and black sides and this makes it easier to distinguish what is wrong or right, and how to deal with it. On the contrary, speeches consist of more abstract concepts and statistics that are harder to comprehend and focus on. Moreover, speeches have generally morally grey sides that makes situation harder to judge emotionally, and thus, deciding what should have been done becomes harder as well. To give an example from recent events, no talk about the racism towards black people from the last 10 years was able to gather attention that the scandal about George Lloyd gathered. In the latter event, it was easy to identify what is the problem, what shall be done, and sides were morally contrasting as far as they can be.

Secondly, there is a unique interaction between media and a scandal that no speech can replicate. Whenever the public is notified of a scandal, demand for the news about scandal increases. This encourages the media to dig deeper about the scandal to match the supply. If a scandal is significant enough, more news about scandal will lead to larger amount of people interested in scandal and vice versa. This loop may lead to wildfire like phenomenon that every possible news source will cover details of the scandal and all citizens will be aware of the scandal that occurred. Additionally, this scandal focused public may also lead to increase about events that are similar to scandal, and thus, public can gain additional awareness regarding the issue. As an example, media spotlighted events about racism towards black people more than before this year due to George Lloyd scandal.

To sum it up, scandals tend to resonate with people more than any speaker ever could. Even though scandals are made from harmful events that must be avoided, they are capable of keep public focused on events to solve problems underlying them.